What is Advocacy?

Becoming an advocate doesn’t need to feel intimidating. Policy-makers benefit from hearing about the issues that are of the most concern to their constituents and welcome that feedback.

You are already an advocate if you have ever:

  • Posted about an issue that’s important to you on facebook, twitter, or other social media sites

  • Given your opinion in a town meeting

  • Returned a faulty product to a store

  • Stood up for someone who was being unfairly treated in a public place

  • Written a letter to a business about poor or outstanding services received, or

  • Gone to City Hall to complain about a property tax bill that seems too high


Being an advocate gives you the opportunity to encourage the public and policy-makers to prioritize and act on issues that benefit children and families. Together, we can ensure that the institutions and policies are operating effectively to foster healthy child development and prevent child abuse and neglect.


Help advocate for children and families in your community today! See the listing of local officials below.  Contact them today and let them know that you support policies and programs that promote healthy child development and the prevention of abuse and neglect. 

Elected Officials for Henry County

U. S. Senators

David Perdue      Email

Johnny Isakson   Email

U. S. Congress

Drew FergusonDistrict 3  Email

Jody HiceDistrict 10  Email

State Officials

Nathan Deal, Governor     Email

Casey Cagle, Lt Governor     Email

Brian Kemp, Sec. of State     Email

Chris Carr, Attorney General     Email

Gary Black, Commissioner of Agriculture     Email

Greg Griffin, State Auditor     Email

Mark Butler, Commissioner of Labor     Email

Mark Williams, Commissioner of Natural Resources     Email

Ralph Hudgens, Commissioner of Insurance     Email

Richard Woods, State Superintendent of Schools     Email

Steve McCoy, State Treasurer     Email

Robyn A. Crittenden, Commissioner of Human Services     Email

County Commissioners

June Wood, Chair     Email

Johnny Wilson, District 1    Email

Dee Clemmons, District 2     Email

Gary Barham, District 3     Email

Blake Prince, District 4     Email

Bruce B. Holmes, District 5     Email

Henry County School Board

Pam NuttChair – District 1   Email

Annette EdwardsVice Chair – District 5   Email

Josh HintonDistrict 2     Email

Holly CobbDistrict 3     Email

Dr. Donna McBrideDistrict 4     Email

Rodney BowlerSuperintendent     Email

For a complete list of all elected officials

for Henry County (including Cities),

click on the PDF icon below.